FAQ
Do I have to sign up for an account?
Yes. You must create an account and pay a fee to complete this course.
Is there a fee to create an account?
Yes. We charge $62.00 total for the course. You will make payment through a secure server prior to beginning the course. We do not offer refunds.
How do I create an account?
Click on the Get Started button on the homepage or the link at the top of the page.
What do I do when I complete this course?
Upon completion of this course, you will receive an email stating you have completed the online portion. Within a few days, you will receive your original Certificate of Completion via email. Once received, you must contact DPS through TOPS and complete the required application.
How do I apply for a Texas License to Carry Permit?
Applicants for an original (first-time) Private Security Officer should submit an online application through TOPS. copy this URL into your browser. https://tops.portal.texas.gov/psp-self-service/login/auth
Is a separate training certificate necessary for students as proof of having completed the Pepper Spray Course?
Yes. The Pepper Spray Training Course may be taught as a component of the Level III training course, but can also be offered as a separate supplement to Level III training received previously. A separate training certificate will be provided following the successful completion of this training course.
If I have previously had Pepper Spray Training will the department provide a current certificate?
No. To receive a Pepper Spray training certificate, the current approved curriculum must be completed.
Do I need to submit court documents if I have ever been arrested for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, when applying for an original individual license?
Yes. We will need such documents in order to verify the disposition of the case.
How will I know my license has been reinstated?
A letter of reinstatement will be sent to you and your employer. You can also check the status of an individual license by searching Texas Online Private Security (TOPS). This information is updated in real-time.
What type of training is required to obtain my License to Carry Permit?
Level II Certification requires a minimum of 6 hours classroom and passing the written exam with a minimum score of 75%.
What if I do not receive my certificate?
If you do not receive your certificate in a timely manner, check you SPAM and JUNK mail first. If for some reason it is not there, or it was deleted my accident, call us and we will re-sent it to you.
What are the eligibility criteria for a license?
Applicants are encouraged to review the eligibility criteria in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702 of the Private Security Act and TAC 35.4. These publications are on this website in the Statutes and Rules section.
Will I be notified if I am disqualified due to my background check?
Yes, a detailed letter will be sent to the applicant listing the reason(s) for denial. In addition, the employing company will receive a notification letter concerning the disqualified applicant. The letter sent to the company will not include any specific criminal history information.
Can I review before I take the final exam?
Yes. Once you have registered and completed the payment process, simply click the "ACCOUNT" button at the top of the site page to review any chapter you have completed. ONCE YOU BEGIN THE EXAM YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GO BACK AND REVIEW THE MATERIAL.
Can I start and take a break from the course and come back later to complete it?
Yes. You may log in and out as you wish.

Important Information

Securityguardlicenseonline.com site is not a government agency nor are we affiliated with any government agency or entity. Securityguardlicenseonline.com is a training resource for consumers who want to educate themselves as a professional security guard and achieve their  PRIVATE SECURITY GUARD LICENSE. We are not affiliated or associated in any way with the State of Texas nor do we guarantee or infer in any way that you will qualify for a Private Security Guard License. The certification you receive from Securityguardlicenseonline.com is not a license or permit to carry a handgun or act as a Peace Officer. To secure this license, it is your sole responsibility to apply to the State of Texas and submit any and all paperwork required along with any fees. It is your responsibility to research and understand your local laws as it relates to Private Security Guard License. If you are interested in applying for this class, you should verify that your criminal background is free of convictions that are felonies, convictions that are Class A and Class B Misdemeanors in the last five years. Securityguardlicenseonline.com is an aprroved Online Provider for the TEXAS PRIVATE SECURITY GUARD LICENSE with the State of Texas through the Texas Department of Public Safety RSD. Texas License F03016601